My Favourite Links #7

“Yesterday, December 7th, 1941 – a date which will live in infamy – the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked by naval and air forces of the Empire of Japan”

“But you must believe me when I tell you that I have found it impossible to carry the heavy burden of responsibility and to discharge my duties as King as I would wish to do without the help and support of the woman I love.”

Now the U.S. Supreme Court has spoken. Let there be no doubt, while I strongly disagree with the court’s decision, I accept it. I accept the finality of this outcome which will be ratified next Monday in the Electoral College.”

I am sure you are all familiar with these quotes. You can hear these quotes and many more at The History Channel website. It is also possible to search the archives for your favourites.

http://www.history.com/media.do?action=listing&sortBy=1&sortOrder=A&topic=GREAT%20SPEECHES

You may also want to check out American Rhetoric. Here you have audio and text of famous speeches and movie monologues.

www.americanrhetoric.com

Leave a Reply

