Racism quotes

My impression as to your cheap labour was soon disillusioned when I saw your people at work. No doubt they are lowly paid, but the return is equally so; to see your men at work made me feel that you are a very satisfied easy-going race who reckon time is no object. When I spoke to some managers they informed me that it was impossible to change the habits of national heritage. From a report by an Australian management consultant who visited Japan in 1915

Racism is still with us. But it is up to us to prepare our children for what they have to meet, and, hopefully, we shall overcome.  Rosa Parks

Racism is taught in our society, it is not automatic. It is learned behaviour toward persons with dissimilar physical characteristics. Alex Haley

There’s a lot more hypocrisy than before. Racism has gone back underground. Richard Prior

We don’t know anything about racism. We’ve never experienced it. If words can make a difference in your life for seven minutes, how would it affect you if you heard this every day of your life?  Jane Elliott

A fully functional multiracial society cannot be achieved without a sense of history and open, honest dialogue. Cornel West

Let’s be very honest about what this is about. It’s not about bashing Democrats, it’s not about taxes, they have no idea what the Boston tea party was about, they don’t know their history at all. This is about hating a black man in the White House. This is racism straight up. Actress Janeane Garofalo attacking the Tea Party movement

If I can send the flower of the German nation into the hell of war without the smallest pity for the shedding of precious German blood, then surely I have the right to remove millions of an inferior race that breeds like vermin.  Adolf Hitler

Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the mountaintop.

And I don’t mind.

Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land!

And so I’m happy, tonight.

I’m not worried about anything.

I’m not fearing any man!

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord!!

Martin Luther King, in a speech delivered on 3 April 1968 in a church in Memphis the day before his assassination.

Leave a Reply

