Famous last words

 

Here is a selection of famous deathbed quotes:

 

Don’t worry, they usually don’t swim backwards. Steve Irwin a.k.a The Crocodile Hunter. Said when he was examining a Stingray in the Great Barrier Reef. It did, however, swim backwards and the tail pierced his chest. He died of blood loss later.

 Am I dying or is this my birthday? Lady Nancy Astor when she woke briefly during her last illness and found all her family around her bedside.

 I’m bored with it all. Winston Churchill before slipping into a coma. He died 9 days later.

That was a great game of golf, fellers.Bing Crosby He had just finished 18 holes at the La Moraleja course near Madrid. His doctor had told him to play only nine. 20 minutes after the game, he suffered a fatal heart attack.

 I do not have to forgive my enemies; I have had them all shot. Ramón Maria Narváez (1800-68), Spanish general and political leader. Said on his deathbed, when asked by a priest if he forgave his enemies.

My God. What’s happened? Diana Spencer

I’d hate to die twice. It’s so boring. Richard Feynman, physicist

I know you have come to kill me. Shoot coward, you are only going to kill a man. Che Guevara facing his assassin, Mario Teran, a Bolivian soldier.

 I feel here that this time they have succeeded.  Leon Trotsky

I should never have switched from Scotch to Martinis.  Humphrey Bogart

All compound things are subject to breaking up. Strive on with mindfulness. Siddhartha Gautama Buddha

. …it’s better to burn out than to fade away Kurt Cobain

 How were the receipts today at Madison Square Garden? P. T. Barnum, circus entrepreneur

I am ready to die for my Lord, that in my blood the Church may obtain liberty and peace. Thomas Becket, Archbishop of Canterbury

Goodnight, my darlings, I’ll see you tomorrow. Noel Coward

Hurrah Boys! Let’s get these last few reds then head on back to camp. Hurrah!  Armstrong General George Custer

I’ll finally get to see Marilyn. Joe DiMaggio

Goddamn the whole fucking world and everyone in it except you, Carlotta! W.C. Fields.  “Carlotta” was Carlotta Monti, actress and Fields’ mistress.

Das ist absurd! Das ist absurd! (German)  Translation: This is absurd! This is absurd! Sigmund Freud

Mother, I’m going to get my things and get out of this house. Father hates me and I’m never coming back. Marvin Gaye-. Moments later, Gaye was fatally shot by his father, Marvin Gaye, Sr.

I did not get my Spaghetti-O’s, I got spaghetti. I want the press to know this. Thomas J. Grasso, who was executed by lethal injection in Oklahoma

Only you have ever understood me. … And you got it wrong..Georg Friedrich Wilhelm Hegel, to his favourite student

Go on, get out! Last words are for fools who haven’t said enough!  Karl Marx, asked by his housekeeper what his last words were.

 Thank God I have done my duty…Drink drink, fan fan, rub rub. Horatio Nelson; This is recorded definitively in an account by Nelson’s ship surgeon, Dr William Beatty. That Nelson said “Kiss me, Hardy” in his last hours, after being mortally wounded is extensively documented in contemporary accounts, including that of people actually present. That they were not his actual last words is also extensively documented, though not as clearly in many popular accounts, and they have commonly been mistaken as being his last words. The latter clause mentions how hot and thirsty he was when dying.

Put out the bloody cigarette!!  Saki (British Author Hector Hugh Munro) Spoken to a fellow officer while in a trench during World War One, for fear the smoke would give away their positions. He was then shot by a German sniper who had heard the remark.

My wallpaper and I are fighting a duel to the death. One or the other of us has to go. Oscar Wilde

 Pardon me, sir. I did not do it on purpose.Queen Marie Antoinette after she accidentally stepped on the foot of her executioner as she went to the guillotine

Bugger Bognor. King George V whose physician had suggested that he relax at his seaside palace in Bognor Regis.

 Now, now, my good man, this is no time for making enemies. Voltaire when asked by a priest to renounce Satan.

 And now, in keeping with Channel 40’s policy of always bringing you the latest in blood and guts, in living colour, you’re about to see another first — an attempted suicide. Chris Hubbock, newscaster who shot herself during a broadcast

 Mè mou tous kuklous taratte (Μη μου τους κύκλους τάραττε) Translation: Don’t disturb my circles! Archimedes in response to a Roman soldier who was forcing him to report to the Roman general after the capture of Syracuse, while he was busy sitting on the ground proving geometry theorems. The soldier killed him, despite specific instructions not to.

 I am just going outside. I may be some time. Captain Lawrence Oates, on Robert Falcon Scott’s ill-fated Antarctic expedition, Oates felt he was decreasing his companions’ chances of survival and voluntarily left the tent; it was his 32nd birthday. He was never seen again.

 

One Response to Famous last words

  1. Alberto says:

    Each gives a perfect summary of the character involved. I’d vote for Narvaez’s.

Leave a Reply

