Quotes of 2013

He made us realize, we are our brother’s keeper and that our brothers come in all colors. He taught us forgiveness on a grand scale. His was a spirit born free, destined to soar above the rainbows. Today his spirit is soaring through the heavens. He is now forever free. Boxing great Muhammad Ali on the death of former South African President Nelson Mandela

We cannot insist only on issues related to abortion, gay marriage and the use of contraceptive methods. It is not necessary to talk about these issues all the time. Pope Francis

Trayvon Martin could have been me 35 years ago. President Obama

I don’t want to live in a world where there’s no privacy and therefore no room for intellectual exploration and creativity. Edward Snowden

I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really – I was alive. Walter White to his wife Skyler on series finale of Breaking Bad

I am flawed…deeply flawed. I didn’t invent the (doping) culture but I didn’t try to stop the culture and that’s my mistake, and that’s what I have to be sorry for. Lance Armstrong

I made a strong choice that in no way diminishes my femininity. Angelina Jolie, on her double mastectomy after learning she carried the breast cancer gene

They thought that bullets would silence us, but they failed. Malala Yousafzai at the United Nations, on July 12, referring to Taliban gunmen who shot her for promoting teen education in Pakistan.

My children say that they feel like Jewish families in Germany under Hitler’s regime. Truly, everyone is against us. Silvio Berlusconi

I am Chelsea Manning. Former soldier Bradley Manning, who was convicted for leaking documents to Wikileaks, announced a change of sex

Contrasting views on Margaret Thatcher:

She was a giant, beside whom other peacetime politicians of the 20th and 21st centuries look like mere pygmies. The Daily Mail

Above anything else, Mrs Thatcher implanted the gene of greed in the British soul. And, in the end, that is the poison of her legacy. Simon Kelner in the Independent

You’re a nasty piece of work, aren’t you? Eddie Mair to Boris Johnson on the Andrew Marr Show

We’ve had enough Bushes. Former first lady Barbara Bush on April 25, on whether her son, Jeb, should follow the family tradition

Leave a Reply

